
Tactacam vs Moultrie: which trail camera fits your hunt?
We may earn from gear links on this page. Odds never change because of it. How we earn
REVEAL versus EDGE: manufacturer specifications, power compatibility, app and plan costs, and practical picks for different hunting setups.
Updated November 7, 2026
Two Featured Brands. A Choice That Starts With The Property.
Tactacam is our featured brand: Jeff owns two and rates them the best. Moultrie is the other trail-camera brand we feature. That owner preference is a useful starting point, not proof that every REVEAL beats every EDGE. This comparison separates manufacturer specifications, retailer prices and our feature-based recommendations.
If you already own a useful system, staying within one app and a compatible set of batteries and mounts can matter more than a small specification difference. If the chosen spot cannot upload a test photo reliably, neither brand’s feature list fixes the location.
Specifications: Compare Like With Like
| Model | Photo / video output | Trigger | Detection | IR flash / range | OP price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| REVEAL X 3.0 | 4K / 1080p | <0.5 sec | 96+ ft | Low-glow; 96 ft | $119.49 |
| REVEAL X 4.0 | 4K / 1080p | <0.3 sec | Not separately specified | Low-glow; 96 ft | $129.99 |
| REVEAL Pro 3.0 | 4K / 1080p | <0.5 sec | 80+ ft | No-glow; 80 ft | $149.99 · Out of Stock |
| REVEAL Pro 4.0 | 4K / 1080p | <0.3 sec | Range wording ambiguous | Selectable; 96 / 80 ft | $159.99 |
| REVEAL Ultra 3.0 | 4K / 1080p | <0.35 sec | Up to 96 ft | Selectable; 96 / 80 ft | $199.99 |
| Model | Photo / video output | Trigger | Max detection | IR flash / range | OP price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| EDGE 2 | 36MP / 1080p | 0.40 sec | 100 ft | Low-glow; 100 ft | $109.99 |
| EDGE 2 PRO | 40MP / 1440p | 0.30 sec | 100 ft | No-glow; 100 ft | $99.99 |
| EDGE PRO (original) | 36MP / 1080p | 0.50 sec | 100 ft | Type not stated; 100 ft | $179.99 |
| EDGE 3 | 40MP / 1080p | 0.50 sec | 100 ft | Low-glow; 100 ft | $121.49 |
| EDGE 3 PRO | 50MP / 1440p | 0.30 sec | 100 ft | No-glow; 100 ft | $169.99 |
| EDGE 4 | 40MP / 1080p | 0.40 sec | 100 ft | Low-glow; 100 ft | $129.99 |
| EDGE 4 Solar | 40MP / 1080p | 0.40 sec | 100 ft | Low-glow; 100 ft | $183.49 |
Resolution needs two columns in your thinking, even when it fits in one table cell. A 4K still-photo label is not a 4K video claim. Moultrie’s 50MP output and Tactacam’s 4K output are not directly comparable native-sensor measurements. We do not turn a marketing megapixel count into an image-quality winner.
The figures are manufacturer ratings, not our measured shutter, detection or transmission tests. A camera that triggers in 0.30 seconds does not necessarily deliver a notification to your phone in that time. Detection is the motion-sensing specification; flash range describes night illumination. Neither guarantees an identifiable animal at the extreme distance.
Tactacam’s X 4.0 sheet states 96-foot IR range without a separate detection distance. Pro 4.0 documentation labels the 96/80-foot figures as flash on the product page but as detection in support prose. We retain the flash rating and do not present it as independently established PIR range. That is why those table cells are not filled with a borrowed retailer number.
Power: The Expensive Mistake Is Buying The Wrong Generation
| Family | Internal power | External / solar path | Compatibility caution |
|---|---|---|---|
| REVEAL X 3.0 / Pro 3.0 | 12 AA; compatible lithium option | Manufacturer-compatible 12V power | Older cartridge is not a 4.0 FlexPack |
| REVEAL X 4.0 / Pro 4.0 | 12 AA or FlexPack R5 / R10 | R5 solar and listed compatible accessories | FlexPack sold separately |
| REVEAL Ultra 3.0 | 12 AA or compatible lithium pack | Compatible 12V external power / solar | Backup GPS is not the main camera battery |
| EDGE 2 / EDGE 2 PRO / original PRO | 8 or 16 AA; compatible POWER MAG | Generation-correct camera solar system | POWER MAG II recharge feature is Gen 3+ |
| EDGE 3 / 3 PRO / 4 | AA or compatible POWER MAG | Camera solar packs / compatible connections | Verify the exact camera, pack and panel |
| EDGE 4 Solar | Included rechargeable lithium battery | Integrated panel; EDGE accessories supported | Needs useful sun, not just a solar label |
Tactacam explicitly says the older lithium cartridge does not fit X 4.0 or Pro 4.0. The newer cameras use an AA tray or FlexPack R5 / R10. Moultrie’s POWER MAG II powers all EDGE cameras, but its specification limits the recharge feature to Gen 3 and later. In both systems, “the battery runs the camera” is a different claim from “this full solar arrangement recharges it inside this generation.”
For energy comparisons, use watt-hours when available rather than comparing mAh at different voltages. Moultrie lists POWER MAG II at 36.18Wh and POWER MAG III at 54Wh. We do not publish a fixed number of months between visits: temperature, cellular service, activity, videos and streaming all change runtime.
An integrated solar camera can simplify a sunny setup. A separate panel may offer more freedom to position the camera in shade while putting the panel in sun, subject to the exact compatible cable and mounting system. Neither arrangement guarantees indefinite operation.
The App and Plan Differences That Matter
| Service | REVEAL | Moultrie EDGE |
|---|---|---|
| Light-use first camera | $5 Starter; 250 photos | $9.99 Standard; 1,000 images / 10 videos |
| Unlimited-image first camera | $13 Pro; standard photos | $16.99 Unlimited; 50 videos monthly |
| Additional cameras | Pro: $12 each monthly | Pro Series: $7.99 each after $34.99 first |
| High-resolution / video requests | Paid request packs or optional Xtra | Check selected plan and video allowance |
| Live functionality | Live View: Pro + $6/mo per camera | Live Aim setup / on-demand media |
| App account and coverage | REVEAL account; automatic carrier selection | Moultrie account; Auto Connect |
| Annual billing | Separate annual prices apply | Separate annual prices apply |
The entry tiers are not equivalent: 250 REVEAL Starter photos are not the same allowance as 1,000 Moultrie Standard images plus ten videos. Likewise, a REVEAL Pro unlimited-photo plan does not automatically include the same video benefit as Moultrie Unlimited. Compare the media you will actually request, not just the cheapest row.
REVEAL Xtra is an optional account-level add-on, currently listed at $4 / $7 / $9 monthly for one / two / three-or-more cameras, at a manufacturer-marked limited-time rate. Live View is a separate $6 monthly or $72 annual per-camera add-on and requires Pro. A two-camera REVEAL account can therefore have a base camera bill, an account-wide Xtra bill and camera-specific Live View charges.
Moultrie’s calculator shows annual-billing monthly equivalents of $8.99 for Standard, $12.99 for Unlimited and $22.99 for the first Pro Series camera. Its support publication gives true monthly billing as $9.99, $16.99 and $34.99. Do not mistake an annual equivalent for month-to-month pricing.
Live Aim is not the same as remote live streaming. Moultrie describes Live Aim for setup and on-demand media requests. Tactacam’s Live View instructions describe remote sessions with power, signal, card and subscription prerequisites; motion triggers pause during those sessions. We do not promise an equivalent remote-streaming feature from the EDGE documents cited here.
Both apps offer organization and hunting-related tools, but the tier and account details control access. Camera sharing is preferable to casually handing out account credentials. Check how an invited partner can view media and whether they can change camera settings before relying on a shared installation.
What The First Season Can Actually Cost
| One camera / service choice | Hardware | Base service | Illustrative total |
|---|---|---|---|
| X 4.0 + 3 months REVEAL Pro | $129.99 | $39.00 | $168.99 |
| EDGE 4 + 3 months Moultrie Unlimited | $129.99 | $50.97 | $180.96 |
| X 4.0 + annual REVEAL Pro | $129.99 | $120.00 | $249.99 |
| EDGE 4 + annual Moultrie Unlimited | $129.99 | $155.88 | $285.87 |
These examples compare hardware plus named base plans, not identical media allowances. REVEAL HD requests, video, Live View and Xtra can increase its total. Moultrie’s named Unlimited allowance includes 50 monthly videos. A cheaper base total is not a complete value verdict.
At four cameras, REVEAL monthly Pro is $13 + three × $12 = $49. Moultrie monthly Pro Series is $34.99 + three × $7.99 = $58.96; four individual Moultrie Unlimited plans would be $67.96. Each figure uses the published camera-count rules and excludes optional extras. Confirm the final account total and billing cycle before activation.
Seasonal use has its own trap: Tactacam says pausing a camera does not also pause Xtra. Check add-ons separately when you stop scouting. Neither a multi-camera pack nor a solar bundle includes cellular service merely because it contains more hardware.
Our Picks By Use Case
One everyday camera on a lease: REVEAL X 4.0
At $129.99, it is our starting recommendation for someone buying into the featured brand. GPS, low-glow flash, 4K still output, 1080p video and the newer FlexPack path cover a broad role. First prove the site has service. Choose EDGE 4 at the same camera price if the Moultrie app, your existing fleet or its feature set is a better fit.
No-glow without a premium-camera price: EDGE 2 PRO
The $99.99 OpticsPlanet listing is a feature-based value candidate: no-glow, 1440p video and a manufacturer-listed 0.30-second trigger. It is an older generation; compare the exact SKU MMC-14125 and the power setup rather than assuming it is the original EDGE PRO. Price and stock still need to be reconfirmed at checkout.
Selectable flash and newer REVEAL hardware: Pro 4.0
The $30 step from X 4.0 to Pro 4.0 buys selectable low/no-glow flash and dual image sensors, plus the side-facing screen. Choose it when those features solve a real nighttime or setup need. We do not call the dual-sensor design a measured image-quality victory over Moultrie.
Higher video output with fixed no-glow: EDGE 3 PRO
Its 1440p video, 50MP output and 0.30-second trigger make it the Moultrie alternative to examine at $169.99. The manufacturer lists an Easy Aim Mount in its package. These specifications do not mean it has 4K video or selectable low-glow mode.
A sunny location that is awkward to service: EDGE 4 Solar
The integrated panel and included rechargeable battery simplify the component list. Its $183.49 price is $53.50 above the listed standard EDGE 4. Compare that difference with a complete compatible battery-and-panel setup, not just the price of a panel. Shade and poor placement can undo the convenience.
Backup-powered location reporting: REVEAL Ultra 3.0
At $199.99, the Ultra is the camera to examine when backup GPS is the specific feature you want. Tactacam support describes approximately 72 hours of enabled GPS reporting after main-power loss. That is not a theft-recovery guarantee; a correctly fitted security box and sensible placement still matter.
An existing working fleet: stay compatible first
Keep a useful X 3.0, EDGE 2 or original PRO in rotation if it is doing the job. Mixing brands means managing two apps, two service bills and separate power compatibility. Upgrade for a missing capability or a worn-out camera, not because a new name alone makes your existing photographs less useful.
A remote spot with unreliable coverage: neither, until tested
Moultrie warns that phone roaming can work where the camera cannot use the same tower agreement. A phone signal is a screening step, not proof. Activate and upload at the final spot before leaving it for weeks. On public land, also verify camera, attachment, real-time-information and hunting rules with the land manager.
Compare The REVEAL Camera Prices

Trail cameras
Tactacam REVEAL X 3.0 Trail Camera, Flat Dark Earth, RV-TC-XGEN3
RVTCXGEN3
Cellular plan and usable coverage required.
$119.49

Trail cameras
Tactacam REVEAL X 4 Trail Camera, RV-TC-XG4
RVTCXG4
Cellular plan and usable coverage required.
$129.99

Trail cameras
Tactacam REVEAL Pro 4 Trail Camera, RV-TC-XP4
RVTCXP4
Cellular plan and usable coverage required.
$159.99

Trail cameras
Tactacam REVEAL Ultra 3.0 Trail Camera, Gray, RV-TC-ULTRA3
RVTCULTRA3
Cellular plan and usable coverage required.
$199.99

Trail cameras
Tactacam REVEAL Pro 3.0 Trail Camera, Flat Dark Earth, RV-TC-XPRO3
RVTCXPRO3
Cellular plan and usable coverage required.
$149.99
Out of Stock
Compare The EDGE Camera Prices

Trail cameras
Moultrie EDGE 4
MMC14227
Cellular plan and usable coverage required. OpticsPlanet lists this item as non-returnable and non-exchangeable.
$129.99

Trail cameras
Moultrie EDGE 4 Solar
MMC14269
Cellular plan and usable coverage required.
$183.49

Trail cameras
Moultrie EDGE 3
MMC14202
Cellular plan and usable coverage required.
$121.49

Trail cameras
Moultrie EDGE 3 Pro
MMC14204
Cellular plan and usable coverage required.
$169.99

Trail cameras
Moultrie EDGE 2
MMC14123
Cellular plan and usable coverage required.
$109.99

Trail cameras
Moultrie EDGE Pro
MCG14080
Cellular plan and usable coverage required.
$179.99

Trail cameras
Moultrie EDGE 2 PRO
MMC14125
Cellular plan and usable coverage required.
$99.99
Before Choosing A Brand
Which brand is actually best?
Tactacam is our featured choice based on Jeff’s ownership experience. The use-case picks above are based on published features and prices, not a controlled head-to-head field test. Coverage and the feature you need can change the answer.
Does 50MP beat 4K?
Not from those labels alone. They describe output differently, and neither establishes native detail, motion handling or nighttime image quality. Compare representative originals under comparable conditions before treating resolution as a quality ranking.
Which is cheaper for several cameras?
It depends on tier, camera count, billing cycle and media requests. Compare the account total, not the additional-camera rate in isolation. The monthly examples above exclude add-ons and do not have identical video allowances.
Can I reuse one brand’s batteries and mounts on the other?
Do not assume so. Check the exact camera generation, power connector and mounting hardware. Even within REVEAL, the older cartridge does not fit the 4.0 models.
What should I check before leaving the camera?
A successful upload at the final spot, correct aim, a secure mount, the right battery system and a service plan that fits expected traffic. No specification table can replace that first test transmission.
Manufacturer References
Technical specifications and plan details: manufacturer publications. Camera prices and availability shown on this page: OpticsPlanet listings, November 7, 2026. Prices, plans and stock can change.
- REVEAL X 3.0
- REVEAL Pro 3.0
- REVEAL X 4.0
- REVEAL Pro 4.0
- Ultra specifications
- X 4.0 technical specifications
- Pro 4.0 technical specifications
- REVEAL plans and add-ons
- Live View requirements
- EDGE 2 series comparison
- EDGE 2 device identity and connection
- EDGE 2 PRO setup and SKU identity
- Original EDGE PRO
- EDGE 3
- EDGE 3 PRO and Power Mag+ II compatibility
- EDGE 4
- EDGE 4 Solar
- POWER MAG II
- POWER MAG III
- Mounting options
- Camera subscription terms
- Moultrie plan calculator